City Museum Harburg presents an exhibition in the new series “City. Country. Photo.”

 

A treasure in black and white: The photo archive of Gerhard Beier (1927-2010)

Attention: The exhibition is paused from 17th of August until 15th September 2020 due to renovation work!

 

The 1950s represent a time of awakening and hope. The Stadtmuseum Harburg is showing a new special exhibition that brings this time back to life: How did one live, how did one work in Harburg at back then? What did a shopping spree look like? How did the people of Harburg spend their free time? Gerhard Beier – photographer for the local newspaper “Harburger Anzeigen und Nachrichten” (HAN) – captured these moments with the camera at the time. What Beier was daily work, reveals itself in retrospect as an important photographic treasure.  Whether it’s street scenes, pictures of the marksmen’s fair on the Schwarzenberg or sports competitions from the post-war harburg of the early 1950s – the photographs are a valuable archive of everyday  life and contemporary history. For the experts of the museum it quickly became clear that this exciting photo treasure should be shown as part of a multi-part exhibition series. More than 50 black-and-white photographs are now on display in the first exhibition “Harburg Stories: The 1950s”, which allow visitors to take a stroll through this decade.

 

Gerhard Beier’s estate, which was transferred to the Stadtmuseum Harburg after his death in 2010, includes a photo archive consisting of around 190,000 carefully labelled negatives from the period 1952 to 1991 and documents his many years of work as a photographer for “Harburger Anzeigen und Nachrichten” (HAN).

 

If you look at the photos of Gerhard Beier, you will find yourself in the middle of a 1950s idyll: The weekly market on the sand in the summer of 1959 – under umbrellas, traders offer their goods on well-stocked stalls. Looking at the photos by Gerhard Beier, you will suddenly find yourself in the middle of a 1950s idyll: the weekly market on the Sand in the summer of 1959 – under umbrellas, traders offer their goods on well-stocked stalls. Men in hats and dark suits, young women with petticoats and ponytails, a VW Beetle parked next to a pre-war car on the side of the road, and a cabin scooter approaches with characteristic rattling. Between the commissioned photos, however, there are also private photos that document everyday life.

 

 

Beier_Filling Station

Filling Station

Beier_Traffic Accident

Trouble on the Question of Guilt

 

In 1949, Beier joined the HAN as a courier and newspaper driver. Later, when a position in the photo lab of the editorial office became vacant, he moved to this department. From his wife, who was a photo lab technician by profession, he had acquired important knowledge. He developed films, produced the required magnifications according to the instructions of the editors and became a photographer for the HAN himself until he retired in 1991.

 

Beier_Relaxation

Sunbathing

 

 

For Gerhard Beier, the recordings were initially primarily a daily task: car accidents, firefighting missions, children’s festivals and fashion shows, shooting festivals in the city and in the district of Harburg. He documented exhibitions of small animal breeders as well as party events and official receptions. Beier was particularly well known as a photo reporter at sporting events. Football matches are a focal point in his work, but he was also involved with the camera in field handball and boxing competitions at Friedrich-Ebert-Halle. From now, with the first exhibition of the new series “City. Country. Photo.” under the title “Harburg Stories: The 1950s” there are more than 50 of his photographs on view, which take visitors on a foray through the 1950s of Harburg and bring many memories of this time back to life.

 

Beier_Angler

An Angler from Harburg

 


Location:

Stadtmuseum Harburg, Museumsplatz 2, 21073 Hamburg

Info:

Fee: 6 Euro,
reduced 4 Euro, free admission up to age of 17 years

Open:

Tuesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Wednesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Thursday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Friday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Saturday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sunday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Das Stadtmuseum Harburg präsentiert eine Ausstellung in der neuen Reihe “Stadt. Land. Foto.”

 

Ein Schatz in Schwarz-Weiß: Das Fotoarchiv von Gerhard Beier (1927–2010)

 

Die 1950er-Jahre stehen für eine Zeit des Aufbruchs und der Hoffnung. Das Stadtmuseum Harburg zeigt eine neue Sonderausstellung, die diese Zeit wieder lebendig werden lässt: Wie wohnte, wie arbeitete man damals in Harburg? Wie sah ein Einkaufsbummel aus? Wie gestalteten die Harburger ihre Freizeit? Gerhard Beier – Fotograf der Harburger Anzeigen und Nachrichten (HAN) – hielt seinerzeit diese Momente mit der Kamera fest. Was für Beier tagesaktuelle Arbeit war, offenbart sich in der Rückschau als bedeutender fotografischer Schatz. Seien es Straßenszenen, Bilder vom Vogelschießen auf dem Schwarzenberg oder Sportwettkämpfe aus dem Nachkriegs-Harburg der frühen 50er-Jahre – die Aufnahmen sind ein wertvolles alltags- und zeitgeschichtliches Fotoarchiv. Für die Experten des Museums war schnell klar, dass dieser spannende Fotoschatz im Rahmen einer mehrteiligen Ausstellungsreihe gezeigt werden sollte. Gezeigt werden in der ersten Ausstellung “Harburger Geschichten: Die 50er-Jahre” nun mehr als 50 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien, die den Besuchern einen Streifzug durch diese Dekade ermöglichen.

 

Gerhard Beiers Nachlass, der nach seinem Tod 2010 an das Stadtmuseum Harburg überging, umfasst ein Fotoarchiv, das aus rund 190.000 sorgfältig beschrifteten Negativen aus dem Zeitraum von 1952 bis 1991 besteht und dokumentiert seine langjährige Tätigkeit als Fotograf für die Harburger Anzeigen und Nachrichten (HAN).

 

Betrachtet man die Fotos von Gerhard Beier, so findet man sich unversehens inmitten einer 50er-Jahre-Idylle wieder: Der Wochenmarkt am Sand im Sommer 1959 – unter Schirmen bieten Händler auf gut gefüllten Ständen ihre Waren an. Männer mit Hut und dunklem Anzug, junge Frauen mit Petticoat und Pferdeschwanz, am Straßenrand parkt ein VW-Käfer neben einem Vorkriegsautomobil, und mit charakteristischem Knattern nähert sich ein Kabinenroller. Zwischen den Auftragsfotos finden sich aber auch private Aufnahmen, die den Alltag dokumentierten.

 

 

Beier_Tankstelle

Tankstelle

Beier_Verkehrsunfall

Streit um die Schuldfrage

 

1949 fing Beier bei den HAN als Kurier- und Zeitungsfahrer an. Als später eine Stelle im Fotolabor der Redaktion frei wurde, wechselte er in diese Abteilung. Von seiner Frau, die Fotolaborantin von Beruf war, hatte er sich wichtige Kenntnisse angeeignet. Er entwickelte Filme, stellte nach den Vorgaben der Redakteure die benötigten Vergrößerungen her und wurde selbst zum Fotografen der HAN, bis er 1991 in Rente ging.

 

Beier_Entspannung

Sonne tanken

 

 

Für Gerhard Beier waren die Aufnahmen zunächst vor allem eine tagesaktuelle Aufgabe: Autounfälle, Feuerwehreinsätze, Kinderfeste und Modenschauen, Schützenfeste in der Stadt und im Landkreis Harburg. Ausstellungen von Kleintierzüchtern hat er ebenso dokumentiert wie Parteiveranstaltungen und offizielle Empfänge. Besonders als Fotoreporter bei Sportveranstaltungen war Beier bekannt. Fußballspiele bilden einen Schwerpunkt in seiner Tätigkeit, aber auch beim Feldhandball und bei Boxwettkämpfen in der Friedrich-Ebert-Halle war er mit der Kamera dabei. Ab sofort sind in der ersten Ausstellung der neuen Reihe “Stadt. Land. Foto.” unter dem Titel “Harburger Geschichten: Die 50er-Jahre” mehr als 50 seiner Fotografien zu sehen, die Besucher auf einen Streifzug durch die 50er-Jahre Harburgs entführen und viele Erinnerungen an diese Zeit wieder wach werden lassen.

 

 

Beier_Angler

Ein Harburger Angler

 


Standort:

Stadtmuseum Harburg, Museumsplatz 2, 21073 Hamburg

Infos:

Eintritt: 6 Euro,
ermäßigt 4 Euro, bis 17 Jahre frei

Geöffnet:

Dienstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Mittwoch

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Donnerstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Freitag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Samstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sonntag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr