The new exhibition of the Harburg City Museum

Places of Jewish life in Harburg

 

July 22, 2021 to October 17, 2021 and
November 25, 2021 until February 13, 2022

 

Starting July 22, 2021, the Harburg City Museum will present the new special exhibition “Places of Jewish Life in Harburg”. The exhibition sets out to find places, people and events from Harburg’s long Jewish history and traces Jewish culture, which began in Harburg in 1610 with a letter of protection for Jews. The exhibition is part of the nationwide theme year “2021 – Jewish Life in Germany (#2021jlid)”.

 

People of the Jewish faith have been living in Germany for 1700 years. For Germany and the Jewish community, 2021 is therefore a year of celebration, in which representatives from many institutions will participate and honor the anniversary with numerous events throughout Germany for a whole year. In this way, a signal is also set against anti-Semitism. With its new special exhibition “Places of Jewish Life in Harburg,” the Harburg City Museum is helping to bring to life the long and rich tradition of Jewish culture in Harburg. In this show, visitors will have the opportunity to encounter Jewish history and learn more about the lives of Jewish people in Harburg.

 

Jewish diversity in Harburg – a history with a long tradition

The Roman Emperor Constantine issued an edict 1700 years ago, according to which Jews in Cologne could be appointed to offices in the curia and the city administration. This decree from 321 is considered the oldest evidence of the existence of Jewish communities on the territory of present-day Germany. In Harburg, too, the common German-Jewish history can look back on a long tradition: it first becomes tangible in historical sources as early as 1610. Since then, the Jews have experienced an eventful history, for Christian-Jewish coexistence in Harburg was never entirely free of tension. Since the middle of the 19th century, the opportunities for participation of the Jewish citizens of Harburg had improved due to the lifting of the centuries-long and manifold restrictions, and their participation in public and economic life became more and more self-evident. During the Nazi regime, however, this coexistence ended with the expulsion and subsequent murder of Harburg residents of Jewish faith.

 

historische Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie der Synagoge in Harburg mit Menschen vor dem Gebäude

Historical photography by Carl Timm: The Harburg synagogue in Eißendorfer Straße around 1890 © Stadtmuseum Harburg

 

The small Jewish community in Harburg still had 335 members in the early 20th century, until it disappeared completely in 1938 after the November Progrom of the Nazis and is almost forgotten today. However, several places in Harburg commemorate them, such as the Jewish cemetery founded at the end of the 17th century. The religious center of the community was the synagogue in Eißendorfer Straße since 1863. The former location of the Harburg synagogue is still commemorated today by a replica of the entrance portal. A special place, because here in November 1938 the anti-Semitic agitation was unleashed. Associations of the SA ransacked and destroyed the synagogue, smashed the windows, and Jewish religious objects were dragged to the Harburg marketplace “Sand” and burned there.

 

 

Nachbau des Eingangstores der ehemaligen Synagoge
Grabsteine mit hebräischer Schrift auf einer Friedhofswiese

Traces of the Jewish community in Harburg: the reconstructed entrance gate of the synagogue and the Jewish Cemetery

 

Today, the city is experiencing a renaissance of Jewish life, especially due to immigration from Eastern Europe. In the process, sacred buildings such as the synagogues in the city districts are once again the focus of urban life in the multi-ethnic metropolis on the Elbe. Starting on July 22, the exhibition offers a good opportunity to get to know Jewish life in Harburg better. It sets out to find places, people and events from Harburg’s more than 300 years of Jewish history and presents the moving fate of the Jewish community and individual community members. For example, it presents for the first time fragments of the Harburg Torah, which was damaged during the Progrom Night and initially disappeared. At the same time, however, it also shows what Jews contributed to society during the common years. The exhibition aims to make Jewish life in Harburg visible and at the same time make people aware of how quickly anti-Semitism and racism can turn into exclusion and violence.

 

 

Logo 2021JLID

 


Location:

Stadtmuseum Harburg, Museumsplatz 2, 21073 Hamburg

Duration:

21.07.2021 bis 17.10.2021

Info:

Fee:
6 Euro, reduced 4 Euro
children up to 17 years are admission free


Admission is valid for the entire museum.

The texts are in German only.

Open:

Tuesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Wednesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Thursday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Friday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Saturday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sunday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Die neue Ausstellung des Stadtmuseums Harburg

Orte jüdischen Lebens in Harburg

 

22. Juli 2021 bis 17. Oktober 2021 sowie
25. November 2021 bis 13. Februar 2022

 

Das Stadtmuseum Harburg zeigt aktuell die Sonderausstellung „Orte jüdischen Lebens in Harburg“. Die Ausstellung macht sich auf die Suche nach Orten, Personen und Ereignissen aus der langen jüdischen Geschichte Harburgs und spürt der jüdischen Kultur nach, die in Harburg 1610 mit einem Schutzbrief für Juden begann. Die Ausstellung ist Teil des bundesweiten Themenjahres „2021 – Jüdisches Leben in Deutschland (#2021jlid)“.

 

Seit 1700 Jahren leben Menschen jüdischen Glaubens in Deutschland. Für Deutschland und die jüdische Gemeinschaft ist 2021 daher ein Festjahr, an dem Vertreter aus vielen Institutionen mitwirken und das Jubiläum ein Jahr lang bundesweit mit zahlreichen Veranstaltungen würdigen. Auf diese Weise wird zudem ein Zeichen gegen Antisemitismus gesetzt. Das Stadtmuseum Harburg trägt mit seiner neuen Sonderausstellung „Orte jüdischen Lebens in Harburg“ dazu bei, die lange und reichhaltige Tradition jüdischer Kultur in Harburg zu vergegenwärtigen. In dieser Schau sollen die Besucherinnen und Besucher die Möglichkeit haben, jüdischer Geschichte zu begegnen und das Leben jüdischer Menschen in Harburg näher kennenzulernen.

 

Jüdische Vielfalt in Harburg – eine Geschichte mit langer Tradition

Der römische Kaiser Konstantin erließ vor 1700 Jahren ein Edikt, wonach Juden in Köln in Ämter der Kurie und der Stadtverwaltung berufen werden konnten. Dieses Dekret aus dem Jahr 321 gilt als der älteste Beleg für die Existenz jüdischer Gemeinden auf dem Gebiet des heutigen Deutschlands. Auch in Harburg kann die gemeinsame deutsch-jüdische Geschichte auf eine lange Tradition zurückblicken: Erstmals wird sie in historischen Quellen schon im Jahr 1610 greifbar. Seitdem haben die Jüdinnen und Juden eine bewegte Geschichte erlebt, denn das christlich-jüdische Zusammenleben in Harburg war nie ganz spannungsfrei. Seit der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts hatten sich zwar die Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten der jüdischen Harburgerinnen und Harburger durch die Aufhebung der jahrhundertelangen und vielfältigen Beschränkungen verbessert und ihre Beteiligung am öffentlichen und wirtschaftlichen Leben wurde zusehends selbstverständlicher. In der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus endet dieses Zusammenleben jedoch mit der Vertreibung und anschließenden Ermordung der Harburgerinnen und Harburger jüdischen Glaubens.

 

historische Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie der Synagoge in Harburg mit Menschen vor dem Gebäude

Historische Fotografie von Carl Timm: Die Harburger Synagoge in der Eißendorfer Straße um 1890 © Stadtmuseum Harburg

 

Die kleine jüdische Gemeinde in Harburg zählte im frühen 20. Jahrhundert noch 335 Mitglieder, bis sie 1938 nach dem Novemberprogrom der Nationalsozialisten ganz verschwand und heute fast in Vergessenheit geraten ist. Doch etliche Orte in Harburg erinnern an sie, wie zum Beispiel der Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts gegründet Jüdische Friedhof. Der religiöse Mittelpunkt der Gemeinde lag seit 1863 mit der Synagoge in der Eißendorfer Straße. An den ehemaligen Standort der Harburger Synagoge erinnert heute noch ein Nachbau des Eingangsportals. Ein besonderer Ort, denn hier entlädt sich im November 1938 die antisemitische Hetze. Verbände der SA plündern und verwüsten die Synagoge, zerschlagen die Fenster, jüdische Kultgegenstände werden auf den Harburger Marktplatz „Sand“ geschleppt und dort verbrannt.

 

 

Nachbau des Eingangstores der ehemaligen Synagoge
Grabsteine mit hebräischer Schrift auf einer Friedhofswiese

Spuren der jüdischen Gemeinde in Harburg: das rekonstruierte Eingangstor der Synagoge und der Jüdische Friedhof

 

Heute erlebt die Stadt gerade auch durch die Einwanderung aus Osteuropa eine Renaissance jüdischen Lebens. Dabei stehen Sakralgebäude wie die Synagogen in den Stadtteilen erneut im Fokus städtischen Lebens der multiethnischen Elbmetropole. Die Ausstellung bietet ab 22. Juli eine gute Gelegenheit, das jüdische Leben in Harburg besser kennenzulernen. Sie macht sich auf die Suche nach Orten, Personen und Ereignissen aus der über 300 Jahre langen jüdischen Geschichte Harburgs und stellt das bewegende Schicksal der jüdischen Gemeinde und einzelner Gemeindemitglieder vor. Sie präsentiert zum Beispiel erstmals Fragmente der Harburger Thora, die in der Progromnacht beschädigt wurde und zunächst verschwand. Gleichzeitig zeigt sie aber auch auf, was Jüdinnen und Juden in den gemeinsamen Jahren zur Gesellschaft beigetragen haben. Die Ausstellung will jüdisches Leben in Harburg sichtbar machen und gleichzeitig bewusst machen, wie schnell aus Antisemitismus und Rassismus Ausgrenzung und Gewalt werden kann.

 

 

Die Ausstellung „Orte Jüdischen Lebens in Harburg“ ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Stadtmuseums Harburg, der Geschichtswerkstatt Harburg und der Initiative Gedenken in Harburg.

Logo 2021JLID

Standort:

Stadtmuseum Harburg, Museumsplatz 2, 21073 Hamburg

Ausstellungsdauer:

21.07.2021 bis 17.10.2021

Infos:

Eintritt:
6 Euro, ermäßigt 4 Euro
bis 17 Jahren frei


Der Eintritt gilt für das gesamte Museum.

Geöffnet:

Dienstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Mittwoch

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Donnerstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Freitag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Samstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sonntag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr