The upcoming special exhibition at the Archaeological Museum Hamburg

Castles in Hamburg – A search for traces

 

November 25, 2021 until April 17, 2022

 

The Archaeological Museum Hamburg opens the new special exhibition “Castles in Hamburg – A Search for Traces” on November 25. With this exhibition, the museum is opening an exciting chapter in the early history of the city and is focusing on the medieval fortifications in Hamburg according to the latest research. The historical records are linked with the latest excavation results at the Neue Burg and the latest research on Hamburg’s “dark centuries” is presented.

 

There were castles in Hamburg, too, but they are no longer visible and can only be explored archaeologically. The hitherto “dark centuries” of Hamburg’s history have been subjected to a reassessment by the Archaeological Museum Hamburg in recent years. This was triggered by the sensational excavation results of recent years at the Neue Burg. In the 11th century, it was the largest castle complex in northern Germany and was built by order of the Duke of the Billunger Bernhard II starting in 1021 – exactly 1000 years ago. As the successor to Hammaburg Castle, it played a key role in securing the trading city.

 

In the new exhibition, spectacular reconstructions and richly detailed illustrations now bring the early Hamburg back to life and show the castles of the metropolis as they have never been seen before. The show offers both informative and entertaining encounters with the lives of the earlier inhabitants and presents for the first time numerous original finds from the archaeological excavations.

 

Luftbild Nikolaiviertel mit Wallburg-Rekonstruktion im heutigen Stadtbild

 

Reconstruction of the New Castle in today’s Hamburg cityscape
Copyright: Archaeological Museum Hamburg, Illustration: Roland Warzecha and Cooper Copter GmbH


Location:

Special Exhibition

Museumsplatz 2
21073 Hamburg

Duration:

25.11.2021 bis 17.04.2022

Info:

Admission:
6 Euro, reduced 4 Euro
up to 17 years free

Open:

Tuesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Wednesday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Thursday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Friday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Saturday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sunday

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Die kommende Sonderausstellung im Archäologischen Museum Hamburg

Burgen in Hamburg – Eine Spurensuche

 

25. November 2021 bis 17. April 2022

 

Das Archäologische Museum Hamburg eröffnet am 25. November die neue Sonderausstellung „Burgen in Hamburg – Eine Spurensuche“. Mit dieser Ausstellung schlägt das Museum ein spannendes Kapitel der frühen Stadtgeschichte auf und nimmt nach neuestem Forschungsstand die mittelalterlichen Befestigungsanlagen in Hamburg in den Blickpunkt. Die historischen Überlieferungen werden mit den brandaktuellen Ausgrabungsergebnissen an der Neuen Burg verknüpft und die neuesten Forschungen zu Hamburgs „dunklen Jahrhunderten“ präsentiert.

 

Auch in Hamburg gab es Burgen, diese sind aber nicht mehr sichtbar, sondern können nur noch archäologisch erforscht werden. Die bislang „dunklen Jahrhunderte“ der Hamburger Stadtgeschichte hat das Archäologische Museum Hamburg in den letzten Jahren einer Neubewertung unterzogen. Auslöser waren die sensationellen Grabungsergebnisse der letzten Jahre an der Neuen Burg. Sie war im 11. Jahrhundert die größte Burganlage Norddeutschlands und wurde im Auftrag des Billungerherzogs Bernhard II. ab 1021 errichtet – also vor genau 1000 Jahren. Als Nachfolgebau der Hammaburg kam ihr eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Sicherung der Handelsstadt zu.

 

In der neuen Ausstellung erwecken jetzt spektakuläre Rekonstruktionen und detailreiche Illustrationen das frühe Hamburg wieder zum Leben und zeigen die Burgen der Elbmetropole, wie man sie noch nie gesehen hat. Die Schau bietet ebenso informative wie unterhaltsame Begegnungen mit den Lebenswelten der früheren Bewohner und präsentiert erstmals zahlreiche Originalfunde der archäologischen Ausgrabungen.

 

Luftbild Nikolaiviertel mit Wallburg-Rekonstruktion im heutigen Stadtbild

 

Rekonstruktion der Neuen Burg im heutigen Stadtbild von Hamburg
Copyright: Archäologisches Museum Hamburg, Illustration: Roland Warzecha und Cooper Copter GmbH


Standort:

Archäologisches Museum Hamburg Sonderausstellung

Museumsplatz 2
21073 Hamburg

Ausstellungsdauer:

25.11.2021 bis 17.04.2022

Infos:

Eintritt:
6 Euro, ermäßigt 4 Euro
bis 17 Jahren frei

Geöffnet:

Dienstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Mittwoch

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Donnerstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Freitag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Samstag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Sonntag

10:00 - 17:00 Uhr